My Fingers on Fire

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 12.59.52 AM

Cellodad Storyboard_PierikCellodad Storyboard2_Pierik

This one is just for fun.

Music video with my daughter, playing with layers of video and audio.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93fAvbbZd3g&feature=youtu.be

The quilts were made by my wife, they warm it up and add shape and movement. A performing cellist is aware that because we’re seated, the visual is more static. I think that’s why there has been a modern trend toward a standing performance style, but that’s not the natural or comfortable way to play the cello. Instead, I look for other things to add visual interest. The important thing is to create the sound you’re after. “My Fingers on Fire” was improvised but I also work from sheet music. I play events including weddings, celebrations of life, holiday parties etc. I also compose and arrange. One of my current goals is to find some clients for custom audio for video and/or games. You can reach me through the contact info on this website or try davepierik at gmail dot com.

My daughter is a highly skilled natural cellist and a member of the Peninsula Youth Orchestra. She learns from me, but also has that priceless ability to teach herself and learn for herself that I did not discover until much later in my life even though I started at age 10. She not only has a great ear, but since she’s classically trained she can also read music. I’m extremely proud of her.

This is an original duet ©2014 by David V. Pierik and Missy B. Wilson, Pierik Group Media.

Leave a comment